The Fair

More information about the Fair

Editorial

1st contemporary art fair in Bourgogne-Franche-Comté.

PLACING THE GALLERIES AT THE HEART OF FAIRS

The primary purpose of a contemporary art fair is above all that of being a meeting place. ART FAIR // DIJON was born after talking to gallery owners and collectors hoping for a return to the basics; where conviviality would be the central issue, the bearer of meetings and possible futures. We do not claim to revolutionize the art sector, but alongside these actors, we share with them the urgent need to give meaning and soul to the art fair gatherings.

Because the gallery owner is above all the defender of the artists he exhibits, their spokesperson. More than a merchant, he invests his passion in the service of the subtle links that bind him to the artist. Replacing this alchemy back at the very center of our Fair seems obvious to us. All the gallery owners present are selected by certain criteria, whose artistic line follows the commitments and strong intentions of the Fair. Collaborating with museums, institutions and foundations, these other essential actors in the art world are a part of the foundation of the Fair.

Promoting young creation is the second essential pillar in our selection. These galleries have an important reputation as they represent international artists and participate in international exhibitions. But they also support and defend local artists where they practice thus supporting new ideas and new concepts by playing the role of influencers in the world of art. Confronting a younger generation with established artists is one of the projects defended by ART FAIR // DIJON.

CONNECTING ART WORK WITH OBSERVERS

Land of artists and collectors, Bourgogne Franche-Comté is ideal for embodying this new Fair. A Fair full of life where we will highlight publishers, whom are real promoters and interlocutors in the world of art. Our artistic committee will reward the talents of tomorrow with the “Art Fair Dijon prize”. Creators, gallery owners, art lovers, collectors and the curious will be at the center of raising awareness of art, which is an action that is dear to ART FAIR // DIJON.

As Danton proclaimed: "We need audacity, more audacity, always audacity ..."

Jean-Marc Bassand
Founder of Art Fair // Dijon

A NEW LOOK AT THE ART COLLECTION

An interesting part of the future of the art economy is played out by artists and gallery owners who defend sharp forms - without being elitist - and who think of art and collecting well beyond decoration or placement, but rather on a ground between poetry, research, spectacular or political ...

Bringing the gallery owners together and sharing their visions to collectors brings audacity and forward thinking to the heart of the collections. Art Fair // Dijon intends to make the art collection accessible.

Having big dreams while being firmly anchored in our land, we can continue to defend the works for what they bring us beyond their ornamental strength. We wish to believe that they are still artifacts that will change the world for the better, that a collection always surpasses its decorative and financial aspect, that it can be an object scrutinizing both the past and the future, deploying the collector in space, more than an autobiography, a tool of knowledge.

FOCUS ART FAIR // DIJON
Belgium in the spotlight:

From Marcel Broodthaers to Wim Delvoye, from Jan Fabre to Francis Alÿs, Belgian artists have deeply marked the world art scene for many years. Art Fair // Dijon highlights Belgian galleries that will be a part of this lineage where the singularity and sensibility is mixed with baroque and humor.

Art editing - to start or continue your collection:

Art publishers do a titanic job of making the works of emerging and established artists accessible for acquisition, by cooperating with them. From serial objects to lithography, including all image reproduction techniques, from the simple variation of an original work, publishing is a real creative challenge for many artists, and it’s also a blossoming marked.

Raphaël CHARPENTIÉ
Artistic Director of Art Fair // Dijon

Statements

“The rural areas are our new capitals”
Here, the "rurban", an antinomic neologism mixing "rural" and "urban", will be understood as a place of desire and emergence, of welcome and resilience, held between city and countryside. It is also the territory where innovative practices seem to be reborn, but also where many artists live and create.
Our intentions seem to have turned on themselves, like a glove being taken off, and the skyline of mega-cities is now behind us.

“The works are the artefacts on the surface of which the world comes to change”
Beyond their ornamental functions, the works exist, loaded with meaning, going beyond their forms, their physical limits. These original objects connect us as much to the intelligence and sensitivity of those who created them as to what we perceive beyond them. Appropriating them means making a connection with the artists and their intentions.

“The art collection is the most beautiful of the compasses to measure the world”
Whether decorum or financial investment for the layman, the collection always goes beyond trivial dimensions. Collecting is not just about enabling creation by supporting it. A collection is above all a complex object, peering both in the past and in the future, deploying the collector on its walls, more than an autobiography, it is a tool of knowledge.

  • By Raphaël Charpantié, artistic director *

PARRAINS

Fondation pour l'Art Contemporain Claudine et Jean Marc Salomon
Fondation - Annecy (FR)
Art foundation- Annecy (FR)
Web page

Barbara Polla - Analix Forever
Galeriste - Genève (CH)
Galerist - Geneva (CH)
Web page

Alex Reding - Nosbaum Reding
Galeriste - Luxembourg (LU)
Galerist - Luxembourg (LU)
Web page

Jean Christophe Arcos
Commissaire d'exposition, critique, délégué général Provence Art Contemporain (FR)
Curator, critic, Provence Art Contemporain Executive officer (FR)
Web page

Relation presse

ALAMBRET COMMUNICATION
An agency of a human scale
The Alambret Communication team comes together around a common point: a passion for culture in all its forms! Our varied and complementary profiles make them real "do it all", combining know-how and adaptability. The team spirit and the good humor of the agency will orchestrate the press relations of ART FAIR // DIJON!
Web page

La foire

Plus d'informations sur la foire

Edito

1ère foire d’art contemporain en Bourgogne-Franche-Comté.

REPLACER LE MÉTIER DE GALERISTE AU COEUR DES FOIRES

La vocation première d’un salon d’art contemporain est avant tout celle d’être un lieu de rencontres. ART FAIR // DIJON est né de l’écoute des galeristes et des collectionneurs soucieux d’un retour aux sources où la convivialité en serait l’enjeu central, porteur de rencontres et de futurs possibles. Nous n’avons pas la prétention de révolutionner le secteur de l’art, mais aux côtés de ces acteurs, nous partageons avec eux le besoin urgent de redonner du sens et de l’âme à ces temps de rencontres que sont les foires.

Car le galeriste est avant tout le défenseur des artistes qu’il expose, son porte parole. Plus qu’un marchand, il investit sa passion au service des liens subtils qui le lie à l’artiste. Replacer cette alchimie au coeur de notre Foire nous semble une évidence. Tous les galeristes présents sont sélectionnés pour des critères dont la ligne artistique suit les engagements et les intentions fortes de la Foire. Collaborer avec les musées, les institutions et les fondations, ces autres acteurs du milieu de l’art est un de ces fondements essentiels.

Valoriser la jeune création est le deuxième pilier indispensable à notre sélection. Ces galeries jouissent d’une réputation importante car ils représentent des artistes internationaux et participent à des exhibitions internationales. Mais ils soutiennent et défendent également les artistes de la région où ils exercent supportant ainsi de nouvelles idées et de nouveaux concepts jouant le rôle d’influenceurs sur le monde de l’art. Confronter la jeune génération aux artistes confirmés est un des projets défendu par ART FAIR // DIJON.

RAPPROCHER LES OEUVRES D’ART ET LES OBSERVATEURS

Terre d'artistes et de collectionneurs, la Bourgogne Franche-Comté est idéale pour incarner cette nouvelle Foire. Un lieu vivant où nous mettrons en lumière les éditeurs, véritables promoteurs et interlocuteurs du milieu de l’art. Notre comité artistique récompensera les talents de demain avec le “prix Art Fair Dijon”. Créateurs, galeristes, amateurs d’art, collectionneurs et curieux seront au centre de la sensibilisation à l’art chère à ART FAIR // DIJON.

Comme le proclamait Danton : “Il nous faut de l’audace, encore de l'audace, toujours de l’audace…”

Jean-Marc Bassand
Fondateur Art Fair Dijon

UN NOUVEAU REGARD SUR LA COLLECTION D’ART

Une partie intéressante des futurs de l’économie de l’art se joue chez les artistes et les galeristes qui défendent des formes pointues -sans être élitistes- et qui pensent l’art et la collection bien au delà de la décoration ou du placement, mais plutôt sur un terrain entre poésie, recherche, spectaculaire ou politique…

Réunir ces galeristes et proposer leurs visions aux collectionneurs, c’est aussi ramener au cœur des collections l’audace et la prospective. Art Fair // Dijon se propose de rendre accessible la collection en art.

Les pieds ancrés dans le sol tout en regardant à l’autre bout du monde nous pouvons continuer à défendre les œuvres pour ce qu’elles nous apportent au delà de leur force ornementale, nous souhaitons croire que ce sont encore des artefacts à la surface desquels le monde vient se changer. Qu’une collection surpasse tout le temps son aspect décoratif et financier, que ce peut être un objet scrutant à la fois dans le passé et dans l’avenir, déployant le collectionneur dans l’espace, plus qu’une autobiographie, un outil de connaissance.

LES FOCUS ART FAIR // DIJON
La Belgique à l’honneur :

De Marcel Broodthaers à Wim Delvoye, de Jan Fabre à Francis Alÿs, les artistes Belges ont profondément marqué la scène artistique mondiale depuis de nombreuses années. Art Fair // Dijon met en avant les galeries belges qui s’inscrivent dans cette lignée où le singulier et le sensible le disputent au baroque et à l’humour.

L’édition d’art pour commencer ou continuer sa collection :

Les éditeurs d’art font un travail titanesque pour rendre accessible à l’acquisition les œuvres d’artistes émergents comme confirmés, en coopérant avec eux. De l’objet sériel à la lithographie, en passant par toutes les techniques de reproduction de l’image, de simple déclinaison d’une œuvre originale, l’édition est un réel enjeu de création pour de nombreux artistes, et un marché en plein essor.

Raphaël CHARPENTIÉ
Directeur artistique de Art Fair // Dijon

Statements

“Les rurbanités sont nos nouvelles capitales”
Ici, le “rurbain”, néologisme antinomique mélant “rural” et “urbain”, s’entendra comme lieu de désir et d’émergence, d'accueil et de résilience, tenu entre ville et campagne. C’est aussi le territoire d’où semble renaître des pratiques innovantes, mais aussi où vivent et créent de nombreux artistes.
Nos intentions semblent s’être retournées sur elles-même, comme un gant que l’on retire, et la ligne d’horizon de mégapoles est maintenant dans notre dos.

“Les oeuvres sont les artefacts à la surface desquels le monde vient se changer”
Au-delà de leurs fonctions ornementales, les oeuvres existent, chargées de sens, dépassant leur formes, leur limites physiques. Ces objets originaux nous lient autant à l’intelligence et la sensibilité de ceux qui les ont créés qu'à ce que nous percevons au-delà d’elles. Se les approprier, c’est faire lien avec les artistes et leurs intentions.

“La collection en art est le plus beau des compas pour mesurer le monde”
Qu’elle soit decorum ou placement financier pour le profane, la collection dépasse toujours les dimensions triviales. Collectionner ce n’est pas seulement permettre la création en la soutenant. Une collection est avant tout un objet complexe, scrutant à la fois dans le passé et dans le futur, déployant le collectionneur sur ses murs, plus qu’une autobiographie, c’est un outil de connaissance.

Par Raphaël Charpantié, directeur artistique

PARRAINS

Fondation pour l'Art Contemporain Claudine et Jean Marc Salomon
Fondation - Annecy (FR)
Art foundation- Annecy (FR)
Site internet

Barbara Polla - Analix Forever
Galeriste - Genève (CH)
Galerist - Geneva (CH)
Site internet

Alex Reding - Nosbaum Reding
Galeriste - Luxembourg (LU)
Galerist - Luxembourg (LU)
Site internet

Jean Christophe Arcos
Commissaire d'exposition, critique, délégué général Provence Art Contemporain (FR)
Curator, critic, Provence Art Contemporain Executive officer (FR)
Site internet

Relation presse

ALAMBRET COMMUNICATION
Une agence à taille humaine
L'équipe Alambret Communication se rassemble autour d'un point commun : une passion pour la culture sous toutes ses formes ! Nos profils variés et complémentaires font d'eux de véritables couteaux Suisse, alliant savoir-faire et adaptabilité. L'esprit d’équipe et la bonne humeur de l'agence orchestrera les relations presse d' ART FAIR // DIJON !
Site internet